To cancel any task that is in progress, including a migration, follow these steps:
- Select Tasks in the left menu.
- Hover your cursor over the progress wheel in your running task.
- Click the Cancel task icon that appears.
- Click Yes, Cancel!.
You can also cancel a task from the Migration report. To do so, click the cancel task button in the top right corner of the report.
When you cancel a migration task, it will not undo the progress made up to that point. You can review the progress made on your results screen or Migration report.
What if my task is still running once I cancel it?
In the case of a migration in Normal mode to a Microsoft 365 destination or any migration speed to a SharePoint on-premises destination, the ShareGate migration tool may have already sent calls to the servers that it will attempt to resolve before it can stop the task.
If you notice that the migration does not cancel, you can force quit the app from the Windows Task Manager to stop the migration process completely.
In this case, your content is sent to temporary Azure storage with instructions and Microsoft 365 imports that content to the proper list or library. At this point, the application waits for confirmation that the import process was successful.
If no progress is made for over 24 hours for such a task, there could be an issue with the Azure queue, and you might not be able to remove the task in the app. If that happens, you can safely ignore the running task and re-attempt your operation.
We recommend reducing your migration scope and checking your network to ensure the ShareGate migration tool can adequately communicate with Microsoft 365.