The ShareGate migration tool provides solutions to delete content you no longer need in SharePoint.
You can delete objects directly in the Explorer, in the results of a report, and on most migration screens.
Note: The content you delete with the app will be sent to the SharePoint recycle bin associated with the user account you used to connect to your environment.
- Delete from the Explorer
- Delete in bulk with a custom report
- Delete from a Copy screen
- Restore from your SharePoint recycle bin
Delete from the Explorer
You can select any object in the Explorer and click Delete permanently in the quick actions menu at the right to delete them.
You can also right-click any object and select Delete permanently from the menu.
Note: You cannot undo the deletion of a Microsoft 365 group. The migration tool will permanently delete teams, site collections, apps, and any data attached to your group.
Delete in bulk with a custom report
Using a custom report allows you to target your content more precisely.
For example, you can bring up all the documents that were modified in the last 3 years and delete them all at once.
Follow the steps to create a custom report in this article. Review and select the data you want to remove from the Results screen, then click Delete permanently in the quick actions menu.
Delete from a Copy screen
You can delete items in the Bulk edit content screen and most of the migration screens (excluding Copy Teams and Promote subsite into site).
To delete one or more items in these screens, select your item(s), right-click any of them, and select Delete permanently from the menu.
Tip: If you want to delete certain content, you can create a SharePoint view in your list or library and use that view in the Bulk edit content screen to delete your items. Use the view selector at the top-left of your content to load the items from one of your SharePoint views.
Restore from your SharePoint recycle bin
In most cases, you can recover items you deleted with the ShareGate migration tool from your SharePoint recycle bin. The items sent to the Recycle Bin are the following:
- List items (only in SharePoint 2007 and later).
- Files (only in SharePoint 2007 and later).
- Folders (only in SharePoint 2007 and later).
- Lists and libraries (only in SharePoint 2007 and later).
- Document sets (only in SharePoint 2010 and later).
- Workflows (only in SharePoint 2010 and later).
- Subsites (only in SharePoint 2010 and later).
- Site collections (only in SharePoint 2010 with SP1 and later).
You can review the items and objects you deleted in the migration tool from the Tasks screen.
- you can restore site collections in SharePoint Online through the recycle bin in the Central administration.
- To restore deleted site collections for on-premises SharePoint environments, you must be connected to the Web Front-End server and use the SharePoint PowerShell command "Restore-SPDeletedSite."
- You cannot run a report on the content of your Recycle bin with the ShareGate migration tool.
- You cannot restore content from SharePoint 2003.
Note: As of November 2021, the ShareGate migration tool can no longer provide full support for SharePoint Server 2003 and 2007, which are past the end of their Microsoft support lifetime. For more information, see Contacting our technical support team.